location: Home > News > BYD’s Chuanfu Wang Awarded Zayed Future Energy Prize


BYD’s Chuanfu Wang Awarded Zayed Future Energy Prize

Chuanfu Wang, the Founder and President of BYD made a speech at the award ceremony

World Future Energy Summit 2014

ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Over the course of this month’s World Future Energy Summit BYD’s Chuanfu Wang was presented with the 2014 World Future Energy Prize. The Founder and President of BYD Company Ltd. was honored with the lifetime achievement award at a ceremony held in Abu Dhabi on January 20th. ABB Group was also given “the Large Corporation Award.” This is not Wang’s first time being recognized on this stage as last year, BYD was also honored with the “Large Corporation Finalists Award.” Mr. Wang received a monetary prize of US$500,000 at the awards ceremony presented by His Highness General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

“It is a great honor for me to be recognized with this award. I want to stress that the award is not only for me, but also for the 180,000 BYD employees, as well as for the people who take action in making the world a more sustainable place. The award will continue to motivate us to develop more advanced and greener technologies and making contributions to the society,” stated Wang.

The world's premier sustainable energy awardee is selected from a list of world renowned government officials, activists and industry men and women. This year’s jury was chaired by President Olafur Ragnar Grimsson of Iceland, and included current and Former Presidents, Prime Ministers, and Energy Ministers from South Korea (Han Seung-soo), the Maldives (Mohamed Nasheed), South Africa (Dipuo Peters), the International Renewable Energy Agency (Adnan Z Amin), Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company (Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh), and Virgin Group (Richard Branson) as well as honorary chairman of Tata group, Ratan N Tata.

About Zayed Future Energy Prize

The Zayed Future Energy Prize was created in honour of the legacy of the late Founding Father and President of the United Arab Emirates, His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. The prize aims to inspire the next generation of global energy innovators to create solutions for the future. The Prize is awarded annually to individuals, companies or organisations that have made significant contributions in the global response to the future of energy, climate change and sustainable global energy resources.